A Murder is Announced

Books by Christie

Agatha Christie’s Books

Agatha Christie wrote 66 detective novels and 14 short story collections between 1916 when she wrote “The Mysterious Affairs at Styles” and 1979 when she died. The books are written around two characters, Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple. Fourteen stories are centred around Miss Marple and forty around Hercule Poirot. She published some books posthumously.

Hercule Poirot is a fictional character created by Agatha Christie. He is a Belgian detective. He is one of the most famous characters created by Christie. He is also one of her longest-running characters. He appeared in thirty-three novels, two plays called Black Coffee and Alibi, and over fifty short stories published between the years 1920 and 1975. Sophie Hannah is continuing the series.

The Hercule Poirot books in order of publication and their year of publication are:

The Mysterious Affair At Styles in 1920, The Murder on the Links in 1923, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd in 1926, The Big Four in 1927, The Mystery of the Blue Train in 1928, Black Coffeein 1930, Peril at End House in 1932, Lord Edgware Dies in 1933, Three Act Tragedy in 1934, Murder on the Orient Express / Murder in the Calais Coachin 1934, Death in the Cloudsin 1935, The ABC Murders in 1936, Murder in Mesopotamian in 1936, Cards on the Table in 1936, Dumb Witness in 1937, Deathon the Nile in 1937, Appointment with Death in 1938, Hercule Poirot’s Christmas in 1938, Sad Cypress in 1940, One, Two, Buckle My Shoe in 1940, Evil Under the Sun in 1941, Five Little Pigs in 1942, The Hollowin 1946, Taken at the Flood in 1948, Mrs. McGinty’s Dead in 1952, After the Funeral in 1953, HickoryDickory Dock in 1955, Cat Among the Pigeons in 1959, The Clocksin 1963, Third Girl in 1966, Hallowe’en Party in 1969, ElephantsCan Remember in 1972, Curtain by William Christie in 1975, Curtain in 1975 and The Monogram Murders in 2014. 

The Hercule Poirot collections include The Labors of Hercule in 1947, The Witness for the Prosecution in 1948, The Under Dog and Other Stories in 1951, Poirot’s Early Cases in 1974, Hercule Poirot’s Casebook in 1984, The Harlequin Tea Set and Other Stories in 1997, The Double Clue in 2016 and The Grey Cells of Mr Poirot in 2019.

Miss Marple is a fictional character created by Agatha Christie. She appeared in novels and short stories. Jane Marple is an elderly amateur detective that lives in a village. She is a spinster. The Marple books in order of their publications are:

The Murder at the Vicarage in 1930, The Body in the Library in 1942, The Moving Finger in 1942, A Murder is Announced in 1950, They Do It With Mirrors in 1952, A Pocket Full of Rye in 1953, 4:50 From Paddington in 1957, The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side in 1962, A Caribbean Mystery in 1964, At Bertram’s Hotel in 1965 and the Sleeping Murder in 1971.

The Miss Marple collections include:

The Thirteen Problems in 1932, 13 Clues for Miss Marple in 1966, Miss Marple’s Final Cases in 1979, Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories in 1985 MissMarple Short Stories.

Agatha Christie’s other detectives include Thomas Beresford and prudence Tuppence née Cowley, Harley Quin, and Parker Pyne.